Maslinica is the only settlement and port on the west side of the island
The south side of the bay boasts a beautiful pine wood with secluded rocky beaches. In front of it lies an archipelago of seven islets (Polebrnjak, Saskinja, Stipanska, Kamik, Balkun, Rudula and Grmej), making Maslinica one of the most wonderful spots in the Adriatic. The beauty of the surrounding nature is in harmony with the historical, architectural and environmental values of the old castle and picturesque stone houses.
The settlement developed around the castle built by the noble family Marchi in 1708. Due to frequent pirate attacks, the Marchi brothers requested from the Venetian governor an approval to build a castle with a tower to defend the village. The family populated their estate with farmworkers from the regions of Dalmatian Zagora and Herzegovina, who were also engaged in fishing and seafaring. The family also commissioned the building of the church of St. Nicholas, located on the highest hill south of the bay.
Upon restoration of the castle and construction of a marina, the once small fishermen’svillage gradually grew into a tourist and nautical centre of the island, welcoming more and more tourists and repeat guests each year. A 300-year-old castle is now a carefully refurbished heritage hotel offering individually designed luxury suites, with a helideck and an exquisite restaurant.